Our Governance and Boards

DDI Programme Operational Board

The DDI Programme Operational Board is responsible for managing the integrated DDI Programme. It provides a forum to review current and future projects, and reports on governance and assurance of the Programme to the University’s City Region Deal Executive Governance Group (CRDEGG) and the DDI Delivery Board.

  • Chairperson: Professor Kim Graham, Provost and Personal Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience, The University of Edinburgh


  • Nick Mills, SRO, Usher Institute
  • Bruce Whitelaw, Deputy Director Roslin Institute, Easter Bush, The University of Edinburgh
  • Michael Rovatsos, Director, The Bayes Centre / Deputy Vice Principal of Research, The University of Edinburgh
  • Chris Speed, Director, Edinburgh Futures Institute (EFI), The University of Edinburgh
  • Mark Parsons, SRO, Edinburgh International Data Facility, EPCC
  • George Baxter, CEO, Edinburgh Innovations
  • Aziz Sheikh, Director, Usher Institute / Dean of Data, The University of Edinburgh
  • David Brown, Director of Strategic Partnerships / Deputy Vice-Principal for Enterprise, The University of Edinburgh


  • Jarmo Eskelinen, Director, DDI Programme
  • John Scott, Head of Delivery, DDI Programme
  • Ritchie Somerville, Head of Strategy, DDI Programme
  • Rachel Slaski, Head Finance and Reporting, DDI Programme
  • Fiona Campbell, Senior Solicitor, Legal Services, UoE
  • Kevin Collins, Assistant Principal Industry Engagement
  • Gary Jebb, Director of Place
  • Tony Weir, Director of Information Technology Infrastructure (ITI)

DDI Delivery Board

The DDI Delivery Board meets quarterly and brings together all DDI partners with invited external experts to look at opportunities for broader collaboration, beyond the DDI Initiative.

  • Chairperson: Jarmo Eskelinen, Executive Programme Director, DDI


  • Sue Bateman, Deputy Directory, Data and Innovation Gov Digital Services
  • Alan McCloskey, CE Voluntary Sector Gateway West Lothian
  • Albert King, Chief Data Officer, Scot Gov
  • Jon Buglass, Vice Principal, Innovation Planning and Performance, Edinburgh College, HE/FE Group
  • Morag Millar, Sustainable Growth & City Deals Programme Manager, Fife Council
  • Natalie Thomson, Lead Development Officer, Midlothian Voluntary Action
  • Paul Lawrence, Executive Director of Place, CEC (Corporate Leadership Team)
  • Sarah Hardy, Director, Head of New Investment, Archangels, Investment Industry
  • Adam Lang, Head of Nesta in Scotland, Nesta, Innovation foundation
  • Stuart Miller, Chief Executive Officer Robotarium Heriot Watt
  • Jude McCorry, Chief Executive Officer, Scottish Business Resilience Centre (SBRC), Small Business

DDI City Region Deal Executive Governance Group (CRDEGG)

The CRDEGG is responsible to the University of Edinburgh for the provision of executive oversight, coordination and decision- making for University involvement in the Edinburgh and South East Scotland City Region Deal.

  • Chairperson: Peter Mathieson, Principal, The University of Edinburgh


  • Kim Graham,  Provost and Personal Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience, The University of Edinburgh
  • Sarah Smith, Vice Principal Strategic Change & Governance and University Secretary
  • Dorothy Miell, Vice Principal and Head of College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
  • David Robertson, Vice Principal and Head of College of Science and Engineering
  • Moira Whyte, Vice Principal and Head of College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine
  • Catherine Martin, Director of Corporate Services (Interim)
Edinburgh University.07.08.2018,Photo David Cheskin.